11:18

The sound of falling rain is calming, soothing, almost hypnotic. I have a skylight in my house above the stairs and whilst I lie in bed awake I can hear the patter of raindrops on the glass. I can hear the changes in the heaviness of rain and when it has stopped completely.

Hearing the sound of rain while I am safe and warm inside makes me grateful for a roof over my head, for the clothes on my back and the possessions that I own. To be outside in the rain is a whole different experience. It is not relaxing to be caught in a downpour, it is not soothing to be soaked from head to toe. In Edinburgh it rains long and hard, often for the entire day. As much as I dislike being caught in the rain, I think the tranquillity of listening to the rain falling weighs out the negatives.

Leave a Reply

