00:02

‘Do you want it bad enough? Does the fear of being filled with regret in your thirties trump your fear of living today?’

Ryan O’Connell – You’re Not Making The Most Of Your 20s

I think about this quote a lot for many reasons. Firstly, I am in my twenties and so it is so damn applicable. Secondly, it makes me think about the things that I am scared to do. Thirdly, getting to my thirties scares me more than I will admit to others.

Reflecting on my life I feel like it has always been smooth sailing, easy-going and simple. There are high points and low points but the general gist is a plateau of normality. I look at others and compare the ‘big’ events that happen in their lives and wonder why I never had those experiences. In comparison with others it feels like I haven’t accomplished much in my twenty odd years of life on this earth.

What are the reasons for this? Am I not daring enough? Do I not take enough risks or challenges? It’s frightening to think that there are opportunities that arise that will only be a one time thing. The future could hold endless possibilities for me to explore and try new things and so I look forward to those and will welcome them with open arms. My twenties will be full of living and my thirties will not be filled with regret!

Leave a Reply

