16:03

Last night at 03:57 I finished reading Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince. I had set up camp in my bed and was prepared to finish the rest of the book in one sitting (I was already just over half way). In those few hours of my life I experienced so many different emotions and feelings through the hands of that book.

WARNING – SPOILERS

Having watched the film previously I knew the storyline, I knew that the death of Dumbledore was hidden within. The build up to this point was executed so well in words. I particularly enjoyed the passage leading up to the murder, especially Draco and Dumbledore’s conversation. Dumbledore’s serenity and calm tones versus Draco’s angst and fear was touching. Reading the death of a well loved character is always difficult to fathom, and I am not ashamed to say I shed tears when it happened. I read the last 100 pages or so with tears in my eyes, welling up when the phoenix finished his song and left Hogwarts, sniffing my way through Hagrid’s emotions at the funeral.

The character development is fantastic, with the relationships and bonds between Harry and his friends, also Dumbledore’s trust of Snape. Tonks and Lupin’s ‘back story’ is novel and refreshing and placed well near the end of the book.

J.K. Rowling writes in a way which attaches you to Harry, Ron and Hermione. She creates this world of magic where you feel included and central to the story. I think this is my favourite Harry Potter instalment so far and eagerly anticipate the next one!

Leave a Reply

