03:15

Current book is The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. As the blurb describes, it is a ‘dramatic, moving depiction of social defiance and social deference, of passion and human frailty.’

I am only on Chapter 6 out of 24 so I cannot comment too much on it thus far. I find the language a little difficult in places and I have to be fully concentrated in it to understand the passages. I don’t think it would be wise to try and read this on the bus, for me, it is more of a curl-up-in-a-comfortable-chair-with-a-cup-of-tea-book.

The reason behind me choosing to buy this book is a fairly silly one. A little background to me: I like to understand references to other things which appear in books, TV programmes and films. The Scarlet Letter is referenced in Easy A (film) where Olive emblazons a letter A onto all of her clothing, like Hester Prynne in the book. I was curious about this reference so decided to read the book to fully understand the film.

Leave a Reply

