01:59

I finished reading Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close today. Never have I read such a heartbreaking, emotional and intensely moving book.

Oskar’s description of depression as ‘heavy boots’ is so real and the point of view of a 9 year-old is eye-opening.

The interesting typography and pictures throughout make it a unique book to me. I haven’t read anything with this kind of portrayal of the story, and I quite like it.

It makes the events of 9/11 so much more hard-hitting for me personally. I never had that close connection with any of the goings on in New York at that time, firstly because I was very young, and secondly because I live in the UK. Seeing the twin towers toppling down never seemed like it had any effect on me. I remember coming home from school and watching the event unfold on TV, and it was happening thousands of miles away whilst I was in the safety of my own home. I feel like I have the capacity to understand it a bit more, to know that it was an event that changed the world as we knew it.

Leave a Reply

