00:00

‘I was by myself for a pretty long time. I needed to do that. I think everyone that I know has wanted to do that or needed to do that at some point. I think when you spend enough time when it’s quiet around you and you don’t open your mouth for three or four days, there’s parts of your brain that can kind of rest. I think when we’re out in the world and we have to talk to people, we edit ourselves. You know, we have to like, act a little bit. As honest as we may be as humans, when we’re out here, we’re all kind of wearing mirrors on our faces. You know, constantly reacting to how to react to the people around you. And I think when you’re alone for a long enough time, you can feel a lot more peace.’

Justin Vernon of Bon Iver

I enjoy the stillness of being in a room by myself, and I enjoy not having to speak to people (sometimes). I think it is such a simple way of getting back to myself, a way of returning to my calm state, an easy recharge of my inner self. One of my favourite quiet times is to go for a walk by myself; occasionally I enjoy a run too. It gives me an opportunity to get out in the world and see things, not people, things. Whether that be nature, the high street, rain, sun, snow, I really don’t mind. It gives me time to think and mull over anything that’s going on inside my mind, to keep my mouth closed and to be the person that I want to be.

It’s true that when you’re alone for long enough, you can feel more peace.

Leave a Reply

