01:51

After a long weekend of wedding festivities and birthday antics all rolled into one, I am back in Edinburgh for the rest of the week.

I arrived in Newcastle on Saturday in the early evening and it was a good opportunity to catch up with a lot of church youths, as well as meeting new people from other places. It also turned into an unexpected late night which probably wasn’t good the night before the wedding!

Sunday consisted of a full day of wedding plans! A 10:30 wedding ceremony followed by speeches and a choir presentation, some chill out time (which we used to grab dim sum), then an evening ceilidh at Doxford Hall. A ceilidh is a Scottish dancing gathering where the band plays traditional music and the instructor teaches the steps before getting into the swing of things.

Monday was my birthday! I woke up with one hell of a hangover and aches all over from overly enthusiastic men at the ceilidh. In the morning I took time to explore Doxford Hall and its grounds and it truly is a beautiful place! There is a library there that I was so reluctant to leave behind, it was simply breathtaking. The rest of the day was spent in Alnwick Gardens; another beautiful place that I had the pleasure of exploring. I would definitely recommend these two places to visit if you have a penchant for pretty gardens/grounds, fountains, old fashioned decor and interesting plants.

  As much as I love having jam packed days I am glad to be given some down time to rest and enjoy at my own pace. I think most importantly I need sleep, both more of it and of a better quality.

Leave a Reply

