23:47

Through the course of this week I have realised many things, but my biggest revelation is this: I have no idea what career path I am going to take after I graduate.

Having spoken to a lot of friends and relatives this week a question that frequently came up was, “What do you want to do after you graduate?” and the answer I gave was either, “I don’t know” or “I’m not sure yet”.

Whilst a Criminology degree has a variety of different routes for employment I have never really given it that much thought. I have breezed my way through 3 years of university studying without really thinking past the graduation stage. I realise that as my last year of studying approaches, I need to really consider my options. That has become my aim for this next academic year: find my calling.

After attending my closest friend’s graduation yesterday it hit me that in one year from now, that will hopefully be me. The robe, the scroll, the awkward walk across the stage, the whole lot! It is an intimidating thought but as long as I keep to my aim, it should hopefully spur me on to reach that goal of graduation.

Leave a Reply

