02:36

I attended a close friend’s graduation yesterday and a few thoughts popped into my mind.

Firstly, I was so filled with friend pride. This is different from parental pride or even familial pride; it was quite interesting. I knew the amount of effort she put into her studies so to see them come to fruition in her graduation was so satisfying! I am proud of her achievements and what she has accomplished, and wish her all the best in the future.

Secondly, it encouraged me to work harder in my own studies. I am in the last year of my university and up till now I have still only been putting in 60/70% effort maximum. I know that I want to attend my own graduation in July and to experience that same joy, and also for my family to be proud of me.

Thirdly, I felt a little older and a little wiser. Graduating from university is a big step in a young adult’s life, and often it is a great milestone before entering the workplace. Graduating with an undergraduate degree is often the end of a person’s studying days, it is like the end of an era. It signifies a move onto bigger and better things.

Hopefully keeping these things in mind will motivate me to work harder in my final year, and to envision my very own graduation day.

Leave a Reply

