23:06

Today I went to donate blood and there I met a nurse who was so friendly that I could not help but write a blog post about it.

I try and donate blood every 12 weeks because I feel like I should give to the community in any way I can. Also I feel like if I should ever need a blood transfusion, someone elses’ blood could save me, thus I need to give someone else that same opportunity. I have been giving blood ever since I became eligible to, and I find it quite relaxing to do so.

The nurse that accompanied me during my blood donation was so friendly and pleasant to talk to. She asked me what I studied and the general small talk questions, but took a step further and took a real interest in my degree. She shared information about herself and her own experiences in relation to my field of study, and I found it very interesting to talk to her. We spoke about a certain forensic pathologist based in the Edinburgh area who occasionally gives lectures in the hospital. She kindly wrote me a note with all the information on so I could research it more for myself. She also wished me the best of luck in my studies.

A further thought was that while it was clearly coming to the end of the nurse’s shift, she did not rush through the donation etc but took the time to talk to me. Her genuine interest in what I did as a student was refreshing and it made me feel good. It is not often that people take a deep rooted interest, even my own friends do not, let alone a stranger!

Leave a Reply

