00:33

I  finished reading Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami. I think my brain is still trying to process the story as a whole rather than as individual plots.

I found the book quite a slow starter but as I got to the halfway mark it quickly picked up. I actually read the latter half within 3 hours on the same day whereas the first half I picked up and left off quite often over a week or so.

There were a lot of interesting ideas and cultural teachings to be gained from the book. There were times where I forgot that the book had been translated into English, and that is a wholly Japanese book. Notions of suicide and mental illness seem to be addressed more informally in Japanese culture in comparison to the Western world.

This is not your average love story. Expect to become attached to the main character, to feel the lulls when he does, and the highs when he does too. I thought it was fairly dark in some places and some concepts were difficult to grasp (due to my own inexperience and lack of knowledge).

I look forward to reading more from Murakami’s collection.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

