23:42

I recently finished reading The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. I think I started reading the book with too many expectations drawn from the media’s explosion over it because of the film adaptation. From many peoples’ reactions to the film I expected to cry and be sucked into the story of Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters, but mostly I expected to cry.

As I always try and read the book before watching the film adaptation I did just that with TFIOS. I know that the film has been very popular since its release but I have yet to see it. The book I found to be a little disappointing and not up to the hype of the film. Maybe this was caused by the blown up ravings of a younger audience or my own level of expectations. I will say that it is well written and gives the reader a snippet into the life of a cancer battler. I feel like I should have enjoyed it more, nevertheless I am glad I read it.

Did I cry? No. I felt a certain sympathy for the characters involved but not to the point of tears. As a twenty-something, I feel the target audience of this book was not for me. I always thought I was connected with the youth culture of today however this book enabled me to see the disparities between me and my younger peers.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

