23:06

In recent months I have taken a few steps out of my comfort zone. What comfort zone is this? Doing things by myself.

While I am perfectly capable of going to cafes and libraries by myself, these places are designed to encourage personal trips and a slight hint of anti-social conduct. As independent as I am in things like shopping or going to work, the other less menial things tend to involve other people.

Today I decided to venture into the unknown and attended a improvisation comedy show in an unfamiliar place. As I entered into the venue I checked my phone and saw that I did not have any internet connection or signal, subsequently leaving me alone alone. However I sucked it up, bought myself a drink and settled down in a seat. I noticed that there were a few other people there by themselves and my worries went away.

Why shouldn’t someone go and enjoy something alone? No reason. What is the problem with solitude? Nothing. Does it mean you cannot laugh out loud? Not at all.

I ended up having a good time and met some nice people there too. Last week I went to an acapella show alone and ended up recognising a girl that went to my high school, so we spoke for a little while. What a small world, huh?

I have learned that doing things on my own is not as bad as I imagined it to be. Preconceptions of being lonely and awkward were far from true!

Leave a Reply

