21:56

“Is recognition all that important?”

I have been asking myself that question more often as I face new situations that feel worthy of such.

Recognition can be shown in so many ways yet I find myself questioning it. Does someone else telling me that I have done a good job validate the fact that I have done a good job? How genuine is this recognition? Am I validating my own actions based on other’s opinions?

Sometimes I listen solely to the praise and criticism of others and tune out my own thoughts on my work. ‘If I do this a certain way then other people will appreciate it more’ or ‘if I alter this it is more pleasing to ____’. I find that that mentality is very damaging for my creative process.

In a world full of ‘likes’ and ‘favourites’ it is easy to fall into the trap of doing something for the masses, and not for yourself. Please others first before pleasing yourself. Is this validation we receive from a social platform more important than that of our own? I am guilty of succumbing to the trends and hypes, so I hope to seek more after my own originality in order to express it in creative outlets.

Leave a Reply

