22:08

I am trying to remember the last time that I felt fully refreshed and 100% awake, and truthfully I cannot remember. Every morning I wake up for work slightly groggy and wishing I could turn over and go back to sleep.

As a human being we need to sleep to survive. Our body needs to rest and recuperate and our mind needs to ‘switch off’. Whilst I sleep for an appropriate number of hours each night, how is it that I always wake up tired? I have a semi-strict routine in the evenings to allow me to go to bed at a reasonable time. I get into bed early and try to unwind from the day’s activities. Despite this routine I find myself tossing and turning in the night struggling to truly ‘switch off’. My fitness band tracks my sleeping patterns and I tend to wake up multiple times in the night. I know that as we get older our quality of sleep deteriorates, whether that be because of lifestyle changes or health issues. I feel like my sleep structure has already shifted a little.

In my student life I could stay awake till 4am with no problems, and then sleep in till noon the next day. My body has become accustomed to a set routine for work: getting up early and sleeping early. Working life is tiring.

Leave a Reply

